Skip Navigation

Reviews for Asheville Exchange

Posted On: 12/19/2018

Beautiful Conmunity!

I’ve lived at the community for over a year now and love it! I take my dog out for a walk every night and everyone we see is always friendly. It feels more like a neighborhood than an apartment. The place is always kept so clean. Stephen and josh do a great job keeping the community looking great. Even in the winter, the pool is kept spotless! The girls in the front office are always welcoming when I come in and are quick to take care of anything i need. I’m especially happy with the new parking policy. Other places I’ve lived in Asheville only had a couple of spots for guests that were really far away from my apartment, so it’s great that they have the whole clubhouse parking lot for guests to park. Plus, I can actually find a spot at my building when I get home from work now. It would be nice if the gates didn’t have to be worked on so often. I’m not sure how people keep managing to hit them. Other than that, I’ve been really happy here and don’t plan on leaving anytime soon!
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Resident: Thank you so much for the great review! We are thrilled that you are happy and appreciate your kind words about our team. Please let us know if there is ever anything that you need! Community Manager

Posted On: 12/17/2018

Unpleasant place to live

Staff change with new property ownership has been disastrous and I will leave asap. New property manager attempts to blame tenant for continual appliance malfunctions and even worse, for insect invasion by large "wolf spiders." Complex declines to provide door screens that might deter bugs from entering since unit is very close to a woods. Exterminator was finally called this summer after 3 week delay could not cure bug infestation, so now I have many large spider carcasses throughout the unit where I have tried to crush them and smaller dead bugs killed by the exterminator's spray abound throughout also. Very creepy. Parking is inadequate and ignores those with disabilities. You'd think that companies building and operating a 312-unit complex could figure out how to render parking more nearly appropriate. Complex is also inappropriate for those of us using the Mountain Mobility transportation system. Its drivers are understandably afraid to drive their large vans through the narrow strip of road by the entry keypad. So, they must run out of the van, input the access code, and try to get back to the van in time to drive under the entry gate before it drops down on the van. Moreover, requiring guests to park at the complex's office lot and walk to their host's apartment is un-doable for guests with mobility limitations. Location behind derelict Toys R Us building is very hard to find and even more unattractive and ominously dark. Moreover, there should be a traffic light at the intersection of the entry road with Brevard Road. Between the high volume of traffic on Brevard Road and that exiting from the Outlet mall across the street, you take your life in your hands if attempting to make a left hand turn in a car or to cross the street if walking. I, too, like the lady reviewer above in her underwear have been visited by random, previously unannounced maintenance entries when very inconvenient altho' the maint. staff is routinely very nice.
By: Ellie     Verified Resident
Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Ellie, Thank you for your feedback! We at Asheville Exchange take our residents' concerns very seriously, and we are sad to hear that you feel yours have not been adequately addressed. One concern that I can alleviate for you now is the office and maintenance teams; although the community is under new management, our office and maintenance teams have remained the same, so you will still be seeing the same faces you have become accustomed to in the office and community. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your other concerns and come up with a satisfactory solution for you. Please call me at (828) 665-0250, and we can set up a time to meet. Again, we appreciate your review! Community Manager

Posted On: 12/17/2018

Love Asheville Exchange!

My husband and I moved to Asheville last April and we absolutely love our new home at Asheville Exchange! The amenities are top notch: -- Gym: I've so far released 20 of the 15 pounds that I gained since our wedding last Labor Day in their well furnished gym that is kept very clean! -- Club House: it is nice to be able to pick up a complimentary coffee or soda from the Club House any time the office is open! -- Maintenance team: Steven and Joshua keep the grounds in great working order and safe! They are very responsive to requests, such as last week's snow removal around stairs. -- Swimming Pool: this is a wonderful amenity during the summertime (although the music could be turned down or off). -- Front Office: the ladies in the Front Office are very personable and organize fun monthly events, like last night's Wing Ding Social. They do best they can to keep the beverage center stocked. -- Laundry Center: the new building owners generously replaced the removed leased laundry machines with complimentary washer and dryers. This solution is a tremendous value to we residents that do have these facilities in our units. Thank you!!!
By: Angela Leigh Tucker     Verified Resident
Read Property Manager's Response

Angela, Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so glad to hear that you have had a good experience with us, and we are happy to have you as a resident. We truly appreciate the kind words. Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do for you! Community Manager

Posted On: 12/10/2018

New resident

Very nice place. I like looking at the mountains. I love the handicap accessible apartment. I will give it a great review and place to live.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Read Property Manager's Response

Thank you so much for your great review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your home. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you. Community Manager

Posted On: 12/7/2018

Parking

Since the new parking restrictions have taken effect I have still noticed several vehicles parked without resident tags. Also, near my building I have seen several motorcycles parked in regular spots. Is their somewhere secure that motorcycle owners could park their bikes for the winter? This would free up several parking spots. Just a thought.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Read Property Manager's Response

Thank you for your feedback and patience as we get the community accustomed to our new parking policy. Hopefully, with the implementation of the parking decals and towing, residents will have first priority parking. We do not allow motorcycle parking and have storage units available that can accommodate motorcycles for only $35/month. Please call me at (828) 665-0250 with your building number, so I can look out for motorcycles parked nearby. Again, I appreciate you reaching out. Your opinions help us improve! Community Manager

Posted On: 11/2/2018

All the maintenance men have seen my underwear

With how frequently the staff let's themselves into my home for un-requested "maintenance", whether I'm home or not, is very unnerving (4 times in 1 month). I feel like I can't leave any personal belongings out while I'm away for fear that they'll swing by. Parking is a disaster. They recently began requiring parking passes for overnight parking because the entire complex would fill up by 9pm. The only overflow parking the property has is the clubhouse which only holds about 20 cars, and the rest park at the old Toys R Us. The dog park is a patch of mulch with no shade and no water source. The security gates at the front and back have been left open more than they've been closed because people keep driving into them. The hot water heaters are shorter than knee height and don't produce enough hot water to fill up even half of the garden tub I was so excited about using. Rushed construction has led to numerous issues including that the kitchen sink isn't completely sealed to the counter so I have to wipe up under the cabinet after doing dishes. They leave the utility closet locked and don't give you a key to it, which as far as I'm concerned is illegal and a HUGE safety hazard. The locks to the front door are not very secure, and there's only a deadbolt, no handle lock or chain latch. If you get locked out of your house, you have to call a lock smith even though they have spare keys to your house. The air conditioner/heater was installed in such a way that it blows insanely loud and you have to double the TV volume and shout across the room. The oven was never leveled, so pots and pans slide off the stove burners. The pool is only four feet deep and there's never a moment when it's not overrun by kids, because there are no adult hours. The bikes are left in terrible condition after someone uses them. And so much cold air comes in from places that should be sealed. That's not all, there's just not enough characters left. We should have moved somewhere else.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Read Property Manager's Response

Thank you for your feedback! Our office and maintenance team strives to provide excellent customer service, and we are sad to hear that has not been your experience thus far. I am surprised to hear that maintenance has entered your apartment without prior notice as we will never enter an apartment without at least 24 hours of notice, unless there is an emergency, and we cannot reach the resident. I would like the opportunity to discuss this and your other concerns with you and also get some maintenance requests entered for you regarding the issues you mentioned above. Please call me at (828) 665-0250 so we may set up a time to speak in person. Thank you, Community Manager

Overall Rating

4 out of 5 stars

Ratings By Category

Parking
3.5 out of 5 stars
Amenities
4 out of 5 stars
Maintenance
4 out of 5 stars
Staff
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Location
4 out of 5 stars
Noise
3.5 out of 5 stars