Reviews for Asheville Exchange

Posted On: 9/25/2019

It has everything!

This is one of those apartment complexes that has everything. From its beautiful setting, the awesome amenities, and, most importantly, the conscientious and personable staff, you will not find a better place to live in Asheville!
By: K. Marshall     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear K. Marshall, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time at our community! Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is ever anything that we can do for you!

Posted On: 9/11/2019

Going Downhill Fast

I moved here because rates were standard but an ideal location to my workplace. These "luxury" apartments have no luxury - only amenities that few people use. The apts may be new but boy are these cheap slap-dash apts! Uneven floors in communal hallways & apts. "Wood like flooring" is laminate over concrete. Finishing touches not addressed. Wall paint is spray paint & comes off with even a small wipe. Sound from outside exceeds normal apt levels. None of these are big issues right now but these apts are going to show their age quickly. Rules are not being enforced & it makes the place trashier looking in the process. Smoking in stairwells and dropping butts into the gutters. Maintenance finally gave up trying to keep bushes outside of our entryway because plants kept dying from everyone letting their dogs pee there despite it not being a designated area. Laundry left all day in machines. Trash is supposed to be brought in daily but one neighbor had his out 24/7 from 10/31/18 until 9/2019 when fines started. People put regular trash in the recycling dumpster & then stack it outside the dumpster on a weekly basis - but mgmt has never brought in a second pickup or recycling dumpster. When Fogelman bought the complex, they took out the communal w/d within 24 hours. There must have been enough of an uproar because they did bring in 3 of each - not enough! The office staff has a high turnover rate. Perhaps thats why they don't know how to give adequate notice that they will enter your apartment. NC law only requires "reasonable" notification but I'm pretty sure nobody thinks that a note on your front door (that you won't see until you get home at 6pm) is enough notice that they are going to be in every single room of your apt the next morning. Essentially, it started off nice if cheap but lack of enforcement means that residents have behaved in ways that bring down the look/feel of the complex. And mgmt doesn't care because they already have your money.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Resident, We appreciate you taking the time to review our community! We strive to provide exceptional customer service and are sad to hear that we have missed the bar with you. We always try to provide 24-48hr notice, if we will have to enter units. I would love to discuss your other concerns and go over the solutions that we will be putting into place! Please reach out to me at (828) 665-0250, and we can set up a time to meet!

Posted On: 8/5/2019

Google My Business Review

Very nice Apartments Review !! The best in this area-- not inexpensive-- but really nice and has a real professional feel to those staying here. Granite counters- some Apartments Review with wood look floors - extremely nice landscaping and design of Apartments Review---- large pool - BBQ area-- fitness center- business center- tanning - massage for fee-- adequate parking Coffee and meeting space in the clubhouse-- Really nice--! The staff has been great - easy check in- quite a few forms --- but expected. I could see living here more long term and being quite happy but leaving for a condo under construction.
By: lets pick     Verified Resident
Source: Excel Read Property Manager's Response

Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to know that you are enjoying your time here and wish you had the opportunity to stay with us longer. If there is ever anything that you need, please do not hesitate to let us know!

Posted On: 7/12/2019

Google My Business Review

I have lived at asheville exchange for over a year and it has been my favorite property so far. I have lived and visited many properties in the asheville area and they have the best staff (office and maintenance) and the best amenities by far. The gym has a wide range of equipment and the residents do really well at keeping it clean. The manager has added some really nice renovations, such as the newly redone dog park. And the resident events are actually super fun. Just this past one they had two food trucks(one being kona ice) that were completely paid for so you got to eat for free abd poolside cotton candy with a DJ. It's a great atmosphere for young professionals as there are many. There's a wonderful parking policy so you know you won't have to fight for parking spots. 1000% recommend
By: Amelia Rachele     Verified Resident
Source: Excel Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Amelia: Thank you for your great review! We are so glad to hear that you have been happy with the community and our customer service! We work hard on coming up with resident events that everyone will enjoy, and we are thrilled to know our hard work is paying off! If there is ever anything you need, please do not hesitate to ask!

Posted On: 7/10/2019

Amazing Place to Live!!!

The apartment is incredible, immaculate, well built, and so quiet. Anytime we have needed any maintenance done, it has been completed within a few hours. The staff is very friendly, personable, and extremely helpful. We love the dog park and enjoy getting to know the other residents. We own a home in another city and live here for work during the week. This was a great choice! By far, the best place to live in Asheville!
By: Dr. Regina D. Hartley     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Regina, Thank you SO much for your amazing feedback!! We are thrilled to hear that you have enjoyed your time at our community. Please do not hesitate to let us know if there is ever anything that we can do for you!

Posted On: 5/16/2019

Best Staff in all of Asheville

With the Exchange being just a stepping stone for us between our buying and selling of our homes, it turned out to be a great place for apartment life. The DOG community is massive!!! As a fellow dog owner this was a huge plus for us. And the social aspect of this facility is absolutely amazing, between the mixers by the pool to the food trucks, the staff is always coming with new and fun events for the residents. The grounds of the property are amazing with a landscaping team that is here continually and always keeps the property fresh and looking new. The staff that maintains the buildings does a great job at making them look new. The girls in the office are always willing to help and go the extra mile for all of the current and future residents, with relaxed personality’s and the ability to relate they are AWESOME!! My only draw back to this complex is that the Remote Gate and Call Box is terrible. It’s usually always broken and can be a pain sometimes. And the parking is limited. There is plenty of parking for the residents but that’s it. Guest have to park outside the gates from between 6pm to 9am. Makes it a little difficult to have company over, but if they don’t mind walking it really isn’t that big of a deal. Parking passes are required for all residents and they do tow is the pass isn’t visible in the vehicle, TRUST ME!! If we ever find ourselves need to come back to apartment life we will more than likely coming back here.
By: Blake Stevens     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Blake, Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We truly appreciate your kind words in regards to our team and community. It has been an absolute joy having you as a resident, and we are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us as much! If there is ever anything that you need, please do not hesitate to ask! And CONGRATULATIONS on your new home!

Posted On: 5/15/2019

Google My Business Review

I've had a really good experience here! The viewing for the apartment was comprehensive, the pricing for the units are good, and the paperwork process was pretty much painless. Both the staff and the tenants have been very friendly since I moved in, too! The location is also really nice. I can get to where ever I need to be in minutes without the hassle of downtown parking! EDIT: It's almost a year later and I'm even happier with Asheville Exchange now that I'm looking to renew. I'm transferring to a larger unit and they really could not have made this process any easier than they already have. Grace was fantastic about showing us the floorplans we wanted to look at and she was just as thorough with us as she is with new clients! She didn't just expect us to remember everything like some places I've lived before. Not only that, but Megan and McKayla have been great about keeping all 3 of them informed about changes as we played phone tag on a few questions, too! The whole front office has been very responsive and thoughtful during the renew/transfer process. :) Honestly one of the best experiences I've had with renewing. The Apartments Review have also held up very well! The grounds stay very clean, they've added even more doggy stations, the car wash area is very nice, and they've even added an electric car charging station! Another new addition is the gating - which is a really nice feature to see added. And if anyone is wondering, the maintenance crew has been just as responsive as they were when I began my lease, too! Thank you, Stephen! I'm looking forward to renewing at Asheville Exchange. My only regret is that when I do eventually have to move out, they'll have set the bar so high that I'm going to be upset with any other place I go to! YEAR 3 EDIT: I am still at Asheville Exchange! While Grace has moved onto other opportunities, we have the wonderful Ashley, Megan, and Mackayla. They are always so wonderful and patient, no matter how needy I'm being about things. Since my last update, the Apartments Review have further improved. The grounds have been consistently beautified and improved: stairs were put in a place residents routinely cut through, grass that refused to grow was replaced by decorative rock areas, and places that once had pinestraw were filled in with sod. The complex just gets nicer and nicer to look at! They also took to heart the feedback from residents about the dog park. The old wood mulch is gone and astroturf has been installed. They got new agility equipment installed and even added a canopy for pet owner comfort! Finally, they've really been doing their best with some fun resident events. We've had food trucks, snacks, and all kinds of things happen, so it's been really nice!
By: Megan Hughes     Verified Resident
Source: Excel Read Property Manager's Response

What an awesome 5-star review to read, Megan! We understand the application process can create a lot of stress, which is why we try to make the process as smooth as possible. We also appreciate you pointing out our fantastic team at Asheville Exchange since we do our best to support our residents during times of need. Please stop by our office if you have any questions or concerns!

Posted On: 3/21/2019

The lastest insults

This place is getting worse all the time. The latest insult is the every growing amount of dog feces, which by the way I don't blame residents for since the dog stations have been out of bags for three days. This is on top of ridiculous parking rules and a new "improved" parcel system that requires residents to sign up for a service and give a credit card number in case there are charges. Plus management can't keep up with paperwork. I've submitted my notice to vacate twice. Do not move in here.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Resident: Thank you for your review! Providing excellent customer service is of the utmost importance to us, and I am sad to hear that we have missed the mark. Upon reading that our pet stations were empty, I went and checked each station and found that they were all full. If you know of one that I may have overlooked checking that is empty, please let me know, and I will have it filled immediately. I would love the opportunity to discuss your other concerns with you and resolve any outstanding issues. Please call me at (828) 665-0250.

Posted On: 1/23/2019

Nicest Community

Asheville Exchange Apartments (AEA) are without a doubt the nicest of the many new apartment complexes opened in the Asheville area over the last couple of years. All of the others were visited, considered, and found wanting in one way or another. One of the wonderful aspects of AEA is its relative isolation, a good distance away from Brevard Road down a long driveway, so to speak. Almost the entire complex is surrounded by a buffer of trees (particularly effective in the summer) which drastically if not entirely reduces noise from the surrounding area. This also provides a certain coziness to the location. The dog park is exactly as presented and similar to almost any other similar dog park you might visit. It can get warm for dogs in the heat of summer so be advised to bring water for your dog so they don't overheat. Their are exercise obstacles and a poop bag station. The only recommendation I would make regarding the dog park is that perhaps it could be enhanced by having one section for big dogs and another for small dogs. About dog poop around the complex and in the dog park. First. there are poop stations located all over the complex and still some people don't pick up after their dogs. Secondly, a company (Pet Poo Skidoo) hired by management, canvasses the property for unpicked up waste, and in the dog park too, to help keep things clean and tidy. There is not much else that can be done to address that issue. Some pet owners should be more responsible. A word about the amenities. As with any comprehensively outfitted apartment complex, the amenities are top-notch and varied. The apartments at AEA are wonderfully appointed, with granite countertops, excellent appliances, sink and faucet fittings, stain resistant carpeting and heat reducing/electricity saving ceiling fans. Mackayla, Megan, Ashley, Stephen and Josh are all splendid people and a pleasure to interact with. Asheville Exchange Apartments are a lovely place to live.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Wow! Thank you for your great review and kind words about our office and maintenance team! We appreciate you taking the time to write such an in depth review and are glad to know that you are enjoying your experience at Asheville Exchange. Please call us at (828) 665-0250 if there is anything that you need. -Community Manager

Posted On: 1/23/2019

We love this place!

We love this place! The leasing staff was so easy to work with! They answered all our questions and explained everything so well! We are new to apartment living, but they made the transition for us seamless. The few maintenance requests were addressed quickly and to our satisfaction. The grounds are awesome and are kept neat and tidy. We love how dog friendly it is - our senior dog has had a very easy adjustment. We also love being closer to work!
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Resident: Thank you for the wonderful review! We are thrilled to know that you have had such a good experience. Please call us at (828) 665-0250 and let us know if there is anything that you need. -Community Manager

Posted On: 1/23/2019

Great Location!

Living at the Exchange has been perfect for me! The amenities are great and the location is ideal...close to the N.C. Arboretum and Blue Ridge Parkway as well as shopping and a grocery store. The staff is always friendly and very helpful. I appreciate the fact that they put resident's parking first. The grounds are well kept and my dog loves going to run around their park. Glad I chose this community!
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Resident: Thank you for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time at Asheville Exchange. If you need anything, please call us at (828) 665-0250. Community Manager

Posted On: 1/9/2019

Rapidly going downhill

When I moved in last year, this place was great. With the new owners and management team, it is rapidly going downhill. Parking rules are ridiculous and not enforced equally. The Laundry Room now only has 3 residential washer & dryers because the company that provided the service left. The recycling bin overflows and management's answer is to post signs telling residents to put recycling in the regular trash. Management has way to many reasons to enter your apartment and they make it clear it is at their convenience, not that of the residents. The multiple requests they make for things come in communications that are mostly rude and threatening. Finally, we pay for "secure" access via gates that do not work half the time. I will definitely not renew my lease.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Resident: Thank you for your feedback. We at Asheville Exchange want our residents to have a great experience and are sad to hear that this has not been the case for you. While our community is under a new ownership and management company, our office and maintenance teams have remained the same, so you will continue to see the same office and maintenance members that you are familiar with. I would like the opportunity to discuss your other concerns with you in more depth. Please call me at (828) 665-0250, and we can set up a time to meet. Thank you! -Community Manager

Posted On: 12/27/2018

resident since June

Generally speaking a good place to live. Maintenance staff responsive courteous and friendly, however hallway and stairwell cleanliness below standard. Office staff not as effective or empathetic since takeover by Fogelman. Pool area and clubhouse much above average. If you are not a dog lover beware
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Resident: Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you have had a positive experience at Asheville Exchange! We are fortunate to have such a professional and hardworking maintenance team. Typically, we focus on cleaning the breezeways of one or two buildings per week, so there are a few weeks that go by before we get back to a building. If you ever notice problem areas in your hallways, please let us know, and we will have it addressed promptly. I would like to discuss your concerns with the office team so that I can ensure that our team is giving everyone the best possible customer service. Please call me at (828) 665-0250, and we can set up a time to meet. Thank you. -Community Manager

Posted On: 12/27/2018

recycling problem

Perhaps a better resolution to the perpetual problem of recyclables being left outside the ever full bin would be more frequent pickups or a larger bin rather than discouraging residents' recycling efforts by suggesting they take them to the compactor
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Resident, Thank you for your feedback on the recycling center. We are glad to see that so many of our residents are taking advantage of our recycling program! We, of course, encourage our residents to place recyclables in the recycling bin, rather than the compactor. Our bin is currently emptied twice per week but does fill up quickly after each emptying due to our increased occupancy. If the recycling bin is full, we ask that residents do not place their bags and boxes on the grounds next to the bin. We are looking into options to allow for more recycling disposal. I am happy to discuss your concerns further with you. Please call (828) 665-0250 and we can set up a time to speak. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for the 4 star rating! -Community Manager

Posted On: 12/19/2018

Beautiful Conmunity!

I’ve lived at the community for over a year now and love it! I take my dog out for a walk every night and everyone we see is always friendly. It feels more like a neighborhood than an apartment. The place is always kept so clean. Stephen and josh do a great job keeping the community looking great. Even in the winter, the pool is kept spotless! The girls in the front office are always welcoming when I come in and are quick to take care of anything i need. I’m especially happy with the new parking policy. Other places I’ve lived in Asheville only had a couple of spots for guests that were really far away from my apartment, so it’s great that they have the whole clubhouse parking lot for guests to park. Plus, I can actually find a spot at my building when I get home from work now. It would be nice if the gates didn’t have to be worked on so often. I’m not sure how people keep managing to hit them. Other than that, I’ve been really happy here and don’t plan on leaving anytime soon!
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Resident: Thank you so much for the great review! We are thrilled that you are happy and appreciate your kind words about our team. Please let us know if there is ever anything that you need! Community Manager

Posted On: 12/17/2018

Unpleasant place to live

Staff change with new property ownership has been disastrous and I will leave asap. New property manager attempts to blame tenant for continual appliance malfunctions and even worse, for insect invasion by large "wolf spiders." Complex declines to provide door screens that might deter bugs from entering since unit is very close to a woods. Exterminator was finally called this summer after 3 week delay could not cure bug infestation, so now I have many large spider carcasses throughout the unit where I have tried to crush them and smaller dead bugs killed by the exterminator's spray abound throughout also. Very creepy. Parking is inadequate and ignores those with disabilities. You'd think that companies building and operating a 312-unit complex could figure out how to render parking more nearly appropriate. Complex is also inappropriate for those of us using the Mountain Mobility transportation system. Its drivers are understandably afraid to drive their large vans through the narrow strip of road by the entry keypad. So, they must run out of the van, input the access code, and try to get back to the van in time to drive under the entry gate before it drops down on the van. Moreover, requiring guests to park at the complex's office lot and walk to their host's apartment is un-doable for guests with mobility limitations. Location behind derelict Toys R Us building is very hard to find and even more unattractive and ominously dark. Moreover, there should be a traffic light at the intersection of the entry road with Brevard Road. Between the high volume of traffic on Brevard Road and that exiting from the Outlet mall across the street, you take your life in your hands if attempting to make a left hand turn in a car or to cross the street if walking. I, too, like the lady reviewer above in her underwear have been visited by random, previously unannounced maintenance entries when very inconvenient altho' the maint. staff is routinely very nice.
By: Ellie     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Dear Ellie, Thank you for your feedback! We at Asheville Exchange take our residents' concerns very seriously, and we are sad to hear that you feel yours have not been adequately addressed. One concern that I can alleviate for you now is the office and maintenance teams; although the community is under new management, our office and maintenance teams have remained the same, so you will still be seeing the same faces you have become accustomed to in the office and community. I would like the opportunity to speak with you about your other concerns and come up with a satisfactory solution for you. Please call me at (828) 665-0250, and we can set up a time to meet. Again, we appreciate your review! Community Manager

Posted On: 12/17/2018

Love Asheville Exchange!

My husband and I moved to Asheville last April and we absolutely love our new home at Asheville Exchange! The amenities are top notch: -- Gym: I've so far released 20 of the 15 pounds that I gained since our wedding last Labor Day in their well furnished gym that is kept very clean! -- Club House: it is nice to be able to pick up a complimentary coffee or soda from the Club House any time the office is open! -- Maintenance team: Steven and Joshua keep the grounds in great working order and safe! They are very responsive to requests, such as last week's snow removal around stairs. -- Swimming Pool: this is a wonderful amenity during the summertime (although the music could be turned down or off). -- Front Office: the ladies in the Front Office are very personable and organize fun monthly events, like last night's Wing Ding Social. They do best they can to keep the beverage center stocked. -- Laundry Center: the new building owners generously replaced the removed leased laundry machines with complimentary washer and dryers. This solution is a tremendous value to we residents that do have these facilities in our units. Thank you!!!
By: Angela Leigh Tucker     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Angela, Thank you so much for your amazing review! We are so glad to hear that you have had a good experience with us, and we are happy to have you as a resident. We truly appreciate the kind words. Please let us know if there is ever anything we can do for you! Community Manager

Posted On: 12/10/2018

New resident

Very nice place. I like looking at the mountains. I love the handicap accessible apartment. I will give it a great review and place to live.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thank you so much for your great review! We are happy to hear that you are enjoying your home. Please let us know if there is anything we can do for you. Community Manager

Posted On: 12/7/2018

Parking

Since the new parking restrictions have taken effect I have still noticed several vehicles parked without resident tags. Also, near my building I have seen several motorcycles parked in regular spots. Is their somewhere secure that motorcycle owners could park their bikes for the winter? This would free up several parking spots. Just a thought.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thank you for your feedback and patience as we get the community accustomed to our new parking policy. Hopefully, with the implementation of the parking decals and towing, residents will have first priority parking. We do not allow motorcycle parking and have storage units available that can accommodate motorcycles for only $35/month. Please call me at (828) 665-0250 with your building number, so I can look out for motorcycles parked nearby. Again, I appreciate you reaching out. Your opinions help us improve! Community Manager

Posted On: 11/2/2018

All the maintenance men have seen my underwear

With how frequently the staff let's themselves into my home for un-requested "maintenance", whether I'm home or not, is very unnerving (4 times in 1 month). I feel like I can't leave any personal belongings out while I'm away for fear that they'll swing by. Parking is a disaster. They recently began requiring parking passes for overnight parking because the entire complex would fill up by 9pm. The only overflow parking the property has is the clubhouse which only holds about 20 cars, and the rest park at the old Toys R Us. The dog park is a patch of mulch with no shade and no water source. The security gates at the front and back have been left open more than they've been closed because people keep driving into them. The hot water heaters are shorter than knee height and don't produce enough hot water to fill up even half of the garden tub I was so excited about using. Rushed construction has led to numerous issues including that the kitchen sink isn't completely sealed to the counter so I have to wipe up under the cabinet after doing dishes. They leave the utility closet locked and don't give you a key to it, which as far as I'm concerned is illegal and a HUGE safety hazard. The locks to the front door are not very secure, and there's only a deadbolt, no handle lock or chain latch. If you get locked out of your house, you have to call a lock smith even though they have spare keys to your house. The air conditioner/heater was installed in such a way that it blows insanely loud and you have to double the TV volume and shout across the room. The oven was never leveled, so pots and pans slide off the stove burners. The pool is only four feet deep and there's never a moment when it's not overrun by kids, because there are no adult hours. The bikes are left in terrible condition after someone uses them. And so much cold air comes in from places that should be sealed. That's not all, there's just not enough characters left. We should have moved somewhere else.
By: Anonymous     Verified Resident
Source: Property Site Read Property Manager's Response

Thank you for your feedback! Our office and maintenance team strives to provide excellent customer service, and we are sad to hear that has not been your experience thus far. I am surprised to hear that maintenance has entered your apartment without prior notice as we will never enter an apartment without at least 24 hours of notice, unless there is an emergency, and we cannot reach the resident. I would like the opportunity to discuss this and your other concerns with you and also get some maintenance requests entered for you regarding the issues you mentioned above. Please call me at (828) 665-0250 so we may set up a time to speak in person. Thank you, Community Manager

Overall Rating

4 out of 5 stars

Ratings By Category

Parking
3.5 out of 5 stars
Amenities
4.5 out of 5 stars
Maintenance
4 out of 5 stars
Staff
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Location
4.5 out of 5 stars
Noise
4 out of 5 stars